Thursday, 13 June 2013

Video clips from CCCTU conference 8/6/2013

Campaign Against Climate Change Trade Union Group
June 8th 2013, London Metropolitan University

Conference programme
11.00 Opening Plenary
Chair: Suzanne Jeffery (Chair, Campaign against Climate Change Trade Union Group)
Room SH2-09
Speaker: Richard Payne (London Metropolitan University UCU and Climate Action Group)
Speaker: Sue Ferns (Director of Communications and Research, Prospect, and Co-chair, Trade Unions Sustainable Development Advisory Committee)

11.20 How serious is the climate crisis and how could it affect us? A briefing for trade unionists
Speaker: Prof Kevin Anderson (Deputy Director, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research) (Questions and Discussion)
12.20 Workshops 1
The melting Arctic: what will it mean?
Speaker: Dr Michel Tsamados (Research Associate, Centre for Polar Observation and Modelling, Reading University)
Chair: Jenny Patient (Sheffield Climate Alliance)
Room SH2-09 (Questions and Discussion)

2.00 Second Plenary: Fighting climate change and for climate jobs, internationally & locally
Manuel Cortes (General Secretary, TSSA),
Andreas Ytterstad (Chair, Union of Concerned Scientists, Norway),
Martin Empson (One Million Climate Jobs Campaign),
Ewa Jasiewicz (No Dash for Gas).
Speaker through Skype: Dr Lara Skinner (Trade Unions for Energy Democracy, USA),
Chair: Jonathan Neale (National Steering Group, Campaign against Climate Change)  Questions and discussion
3.00 Workshops 2

1.      Changing the Government’s climate  policy
Speakers: Joan Walley MP (Chair, House of Commons Environmental Scrutiny Committee), Philip Pearson (TUC Senior Policy Officer for Climate Change and Energy)
Chair: Fiona Brookes (Campaigns Organiser, Campaign against Climate Change)
Room SH2-09 Questions & discussion

4.00 “Question Time” Plenary: Countering austerity - the fight for climate jobs
Panellists: Chris Baugh (Assistant General Secretary PCS), Martin Mayer (National Executive Council, Unite), Suzanne Jeffery (Chair, CACCTU), Jonathan Stevenson (Fuel Poverty Action), Joan Walley MP, Will Duckworth (Deputy Leader, Green Party)
Chair: John Stewart (Chair, Campaign against Climate Change)

No comments: